House Structure

How does it work?

At Wainuiomata High School we have vertical forms called Manaaki Classes. These classes range in size from 15-25 students across all year levels (not year levels separated).

Each Manaaki Class belongs to a House, of which we have four:


Named for Bill Henry "Willie" Apiata VC, the House colours are Black and Silver. Apiata's House Dean is Mr Matthew Wood and the Student House Leaders are Aleisha Telea and Omarion Vagana.


Named for Sir Apirana Turupa Ngata, the Ngata Knights' House colours are Purple and Gold. Ngata's House Dean is Mrs Emily Goldie and the Student House Leaders are Shivjesh Nair and Angel-Adena Patterson-Luia.


Named for Ernest Rutherford, the Rutherford Wolves' House colours are Teal and Graphite. Rutherdford's House Dean is Ms Sarah O'Neill and the Student House Leaders are Chloe Smith and Perez Matenga.


Named for Hone Tuwhare, the Tuwhare Tigers' House colours are Orange and Black. Tuwhare's House Dean is Mr Adam Weir and the Student House Leaders are Aleki Leala and Trenell Leota.